Inaugural Olivier Awards’ Be Inspired champions are announced

C3K3NLTXAAEAx5MThe Olivier Awards with Mastercard have announced its six inaugural ‘Be Inspired Champions’.

Nominated by members of the public and theatre industry, these six individuals have motivated and inspired others with their love and commitment to theatre.

The six champions will be invited to the ceremony on Sunday 9 April and will be presented with their plaque during the awards’ Facebook Live red carpet broadcast.

The ‘Be Inspired Champions’ are:

Stuart Clements, a drama teacher at a specialist school for children with autism, speech, language and communication difficulties, who has used theatre to improve the confidence of countless children.

Sally-Anne Coleman was nominated following her diagnosis of terminal cancer and died shortly after the winners were decided. As a performer, choreographer and director, Sally-Anne brought joy to many.

Through her work at a youth theatre group, Sally-Anne strived to ensure every child’s experience was special and passed on her love of performing to the next generation of theatre fans.

Harry Gabriel has been stagedoor keeper at the Shaftesbury Theatre for more than 35 years. The first face casts and crew see every day; Harry’s love and passion for his job has been infectious – a friend to all who enter the theatre.

Janet Hudson-Holt is the costume supervisor for the world’s longest-running stage show, The Mousetrap. For 15 years she has been an integral part of the show, making the wheels of The Mousetrap turn. Her impact on the show is clearly visible, after Janet painstakingly re-created the costumes from the original incarnation of the show.  

Edwin Shaw is a friend and mentor to many in the theatre industry and 2017 marks his 60th year in showbusiness.

Beginning his career in 1957 as box office clerk at Sheffield’s Empire Theatre, he moved to the London Palladium in 1968 where he was box office manager at the iconic venue for 22 years. Edwin still consults for Really Useful Theatres as well as producers across the country.

Mark Thorburn has dedicated his career to championing theatre, whether as a primary school teacher organising theatre trips, his 15 years as artistic director of Coventry Youth Operetta Group or co-ordinating the centenary celebrations of the National Operatic and Dramatic Association.

Comedian and actor Jason Manford will host this year’s Olivier Awards with Mastercard. The 2017 awards are set to be the biggest yet, as they make their debut at the Royal Albert Hall on Sunday 9 April.

Readers may also be interested in:

Olivier Awards 2017 – Groundhog Day receives eight nominations – News


Join the Conversation

Sign up to receive news and updates from Musical Theatre Review

, ,

Comments are closed.
Copyright: Musical Theatre Review Ltd 2013. All rights reserved.