La La Land at the Oscars – Hurwitz, Pasek and Paul win Best Song

Benj Pasek and Justin Paul

Benj Pasek and Justin Paul just picked up an Oscar for their work on La La Land

Feelgood musical La La Land may have been involved in the biggest mix-up in Oscar history when it was mistakenly named Best Picture at Sunday’s ceremony, but the tuneful love note to Los Angeles still took home six trophies.

Composer Justin Hurwitz won the Academy Award for Best Original Score for his work on the movie and also shared in the prize for Best Original Song with the Broadway composing team of Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen) for ‘City of Stars’.

For the musical writing team of Pasek and Paul, the Oscar win (which follows on from a Golden Globe for the same song) is just the latest golden moment in a relatively fledgling career that already looks on course to break a number of records.

Industry observers are already predicting they will be adding a Tony Award to their trophy cabinet in June with the prize for Best Original Score for their Broadway hit Dear Evan Hansen.

In the autumn, it is expected to be their small screen work which will attract plaudits when a nomination and possible win for Outstanding Original Music and Lyrics could be in the offing for the much-anticipated crossover musical episode of hit comic book shows The Flash and Supergirl.

The show, which is due to air in the US on 21 March, will feature performances by series regulars and Broadway favourites Jesse L Martin, Victor Garber, John Barrowman, Jeremy Jordan and Carlos Valdes. The double episode will star Supergirl’s Melissa Benoist, The Flash’s Grant Gustin and fellow former Glee regular Darren Criss who will guest star in the episode.

The composing team’s wins for La La Land could also keep coming in 2018 when Pasek and Paul could be in the running for Grammy Awards for best soundtrack album and for the original cast recording of Dear Evan Hansen.

This could potentially mean Pasek and Paul are in the running for the EGOT, so-called for those few artists who have won the Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony awards.

La La Land’s Oscar winners also included director Damien Chazelle who became the youngest person ever to claim the top film directing prize, Emma Stone took home the Best Actress statuette, David Wasco and Sandy Reynolds-Wasco collected the Best Production Design award and Linus Sandgren picked up the Oscar for Best Cinematography.

The film that has been described as a ‘throwback to the Golden Age of the Hollywood musical’ translated its record-tying 14 Oscar nominations into six wins, making it the night’s biggest overall winner. La La Land‘s six Oscars added to the film’s bulging trophy cabinet which include its record-breaking seven Golden Globes and five BAFTAs.

The brainchild of director Chazelle, whose previous hit was the triple Oscar-winning Whiplash, La La Land takes its inspiration from the Hollywood musicals that entranced him as a child. The story of the romance between a struggling actress and a jazz pianist in modern day Los Angeles, the film has won rave reviews on both sides of the Atlantic.

Angela Thomas

Readers may also be interested in:

Pasek and Paul give first UK interview in run-up to European premiere of Dogfight


Join the Conversation

Sign up to receive news and updates from Musical Theatre Review

, , , , , ,

Comments are closed.
Copyright: Musical Theatre Review Ltd 2013. All rights reserved.