Nigel Harman and Janie Dee lined up for S&S Awards Gala

Nigel Harman 1

Nigel Harman hosts this year’s S&S Awards Gala at St James Theatre, London on 15 November

Olivier Award winner Nigel Harman will host this year’s S&S Awards Gala at the St James Theatre, London on Sunday 15 November.

The glittering celebration of new musical theatre will culminate in the announcement and presentation of the prestigious S&S Award 2015 by another Olivier Award winner, Janie Dee.

Awarded to the work judged to be the most promising new unproduced musical of the year, the S&S Award winner is chosen by a panel of producers, actors, directors and musicians.

This year’s S&S Award attracted a record number of entries from around the world. The prize, which is a Mercury Musical Developments initiative, has also formed a partnership with hothouse of new musicals, Leicester Curve, under the artistic directorship of Nikolai Foster.

Foster will be join Nica Burns of Nimax Theatres and Kent Nicholson of Playwrights Horizons in New York in the final judging panel.

On the night, Charlotte Wakefield (Spring AwakeningThe Sound of Music) will lead a cast of West End performers presenting extracts from the three finalists: After Lydia by Christine Denniston and Gwyneth Herbert (after Terence Rattigan), Here by Alex Young and Kate Marlais and The Last Word by Brett Sullivan.

Other performers due to appear include Daniel Buckley (The Book of Mormon, The 3 Little Pigs), Greg Castiglioni (Titanic, The Phantom of the Opera), Rebecca Caine (Les Misérables original cast, The Phantom of the Opera, London and Toronto), Haley Flaherty (Rocky Horror Show Live, Matilda), Stephen Rahman-Hughes (Rock of Ages, West End Men), Matthew Rixon (Casa Valentina, Chitty Chitty Bang Bangand Katy Secombe (Les Misérables, Mamma Mia!). All guests and artists are subject to availability.

The event will also feature a presentation of Forest Boy by Scott Gilmour and Claire McKenzie, the show which picked up the award in 2013 and has since benefited from the development element included in the prize.

The S&S Award Gala is directed once again by Simon Greiff with musical direction by Inga Davis-Rutter. It is produced by SimG Productions, a champion of new British musical theatre writing, in association with Mercury Musical Developments.

Angela Thomas


Join the Conversation

Sign up to receive news and updates from Musical Theatre Review

, , , ,

Comments are closed.
Copyright: Musical Theatre Review Ltd 2013. All rights reserved.