Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour – cast revealed for West End run


Picture: Manuel Harlan

Full casting has been announced for the West End transfer of Lee Hall’s critically acclaimed Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour which will open at the Duke of York’s Theatre next month.

Following its debut at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, a UK tour and a sell-out run last summer at the National Theatre, the Olivier-nominated show is due to begin previewing on 9 May ahead of an opening night on 15 May.

Original cast members Caroline Deyga, Karen Fishwick, Kirsty MacLaren, Frances Mayli McCann and Dawn Sievewright will be joined by Isis Hainsworth. Joining the company on stage will be Amy Shackcloth (musical director/keyboards), Lilly Howard (assistant musical director/keyboards), Emily Linden (guitar) and Becky Brass (percussion).

Director Vicky Featherstone’s production of Hall’s musical adaptation of Alan Warner’s novel The Sopranos is due to play the Duke of York’s Theatre until 2 September.

Presented by Sonia Friedman Productions, Scott M. Delman and Tulchin Bartner Productions in association with William Court Cohen, Askey M. DeSimone & Jeremiah J. Harris, Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour is a raucous tale of six Catholic schoolgirls from Oban let loose in Edinburgh for a day.

With Royal Court artistic director Featherstone at the helm, the creative team includes designer Chloe Lamford and choreographer Imogen Knight, with music sourced, arranged and supervised by Martin Lowe, lighting by Lizzie Powell and sound by Mike Walker.

The National Theatre of Scotland and Live Theatre production had its world premiere in 2015 at Edinburgh’s Traverse Theatre as part of the Festival Fringe where it picked up a number of awards. A short tour followed taking in dates in Glasgow, Inverness, Kirkcaldy, Musselburgh and at co-producer’s Live Theatre’s Newcastle base. Last year the show made its London debut with a well-received run at the National Theatre.

Angela Thomas

Tickets for Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour are available HERE.


Join the Conversation

Sign up to receive news and updates from Musical Theatre Review

, , ,

Comments are closed.
Copyright: Musical Theatre Review Ltd 2013. All rights reserved.