Rent composer Jonathan Larson celebrated in one-off West End concert

Seasons of Larson - Artwork ImageThe life and music of legendary Broadway composer Jonathan Larson will be celebrated in a special one-off concert on Monday 25 January 2016, when Seasons of Larson will play for one night only at the Lyric Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue.

On 25 January 1996, the day of the first preview of Rent Off-Broadway, its composer Jonathan Larson died unexpectedly at the age of 35. Tragically he would never live to see the impact his work would have, not only on the face of musical theatre, but also on a generation of young artists and performers. Nor would he get to hold the numerous awards he posthumously received. Twenty years to the day, Seasons of Larson will explore how the writer become a voice for a new generation on the stage, and celebrate his musical legacy that continues to resonate with people all over the world.

Jonathan Larson is best known for his rock musical Rent, for which he posthumously received the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and the 1996 Tony Award for Best Musical. Rent played on Broadway for 12 years, making it the tenth longest running show in Broadway history, and has since received productions all over the world. His earlier works include Superbia and tick, tick… BOOM!

Seasons of Larson will bring together a company of West End performers, to be announced in due course. It will be directed by Hannah Chissick, whose credits include Marry Me a Little (St James Studio), Abigail’s Party (Exeter Northcott Theatre), Grumpy Old Women Live (UK tour) and Horrid Henry – Live and Horrid! (UK tour and West End).

Seasons of Larson is produced by Katy Lipson for Aria Entertainment, whose recent productions include Tommy (Greenwich Theatre), The House of Mirrors and Hearts (Arcola Theatre), Jerry’s Girls (Jermyn Street Theatre) and Marry Me a Little (St James Studio).


Join the Conversation

Sign up to receive news and updates from Musical Theatre Review

, , , , , ,

Comments are closed.
Copyright: Musical Theatre Review Ltd 2013. All rights reserved.